The business of the Southern Sociological Society revolves around the functioning of elected appointed officers serving on a set of standing and ad-hoc committees. Such committees are central to the functioning of the Society. It is important to note that the all of the labor that animates these committees is voluntary.

View the current committee list here.

If you are interested in becoming involved in an SSS committee, please contact the Executive Officer.

Executive Committee

The governing body of the Society is the Executive Committee. The authority to interpret the Constitution and Bylaws rests in this Committee. The Executive Committee consists of (a) the officers of the Society, (b) the Past Presidents of the Society for three years after the expiration of their terms of office, and (c) six members elected for three-year terms, two of which expire each year.

Adia Harvey Wingfield
Adia Harvey WingfieldPresident
Kylie Parrotta, California Polytechnic State University
Kylie Parrotta, California Polytechnic State UniversityRecording Secretary
Beth Rushing, Appalachian College Association
Beth Rushing, Appalachian College AssociationPast President
Kirsten Dellinger, University of Mississippi
Kirsten Dellinger, University of MississippiExecutive Committee Member
Lisette Garcia, The Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility
Lisette Garcia, The Hispanic Association on Corporate ResponsibilityExecutive Committee Member
Katie Acosta, Georgia State University
Katie Acosta, Georgia State UniversityVice President
Stephanie Bohon, University of Tennessee Knoxville
Stephanie Bohon, University of Tennessee KnoxvillePresident-Elect
Toni Calasanti, Virginia Tech
Toni Calasanti, Virginia TechPast-Past President
Will Tyson, University of South Florida
Will Tyson, University of South FloridaExecutive Committee Member
Kendra Jason, University of North Carolina Charlotte
Kendra Jason, University of North Carolina CharlotteExecutive Committee Member
David L. Brunsma, Virginia Tech
David L. Brunsma, Virginia TechExecutive Officer
Cameron Lippard, Appalachian State University
Cameron Lippard, Appalachian State UniversityVice President-Elect
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke University
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke UniversityPast-Past-Past President
Kecia Johnson, Mississippi State University
Kecia Johnson, Mississippi State UniversityExecutive Committee Member
Margaret Hagerman, Mississippi State University
Margaret Hagerman, Mississippi State UniversityExecutive Committee Member

The Publications Committee advises and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee on all matters relating to publication policies of the Society. The Publications Committee consists of six members elected by the voting membership of the Society for a term of three years with one member’s term expiring each year.

The standing committees that have appointed members are as follows:

  • Program Committee
  • Local Arrangements
  • Finance Committee
  • Election Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Committee on Honors
  • Committee on Ethnic and Racial Minorities
  • Committee on the Professions
  • Committee on Sociological Practice
  • Committee on Sociology in Community and Small Colleges
  • Membership Committee
  • Committee on the Status of Students
  • Committee on Gender and Sexuality
  • Site Selection Committee

Recognizing the persistence of special interests, and endeavoring to serve as broad a spectrum of its membership as possible, the Society acknowledges the value of ad-hoc committees designed to address special needs. These committees shall exist for as long as they are judged by the Executive Committee to be active and serving the interests of the membership. Examples of such committees, past and present, include:

  • The Archivist
  • The Electronic Communications Coordinator
  • The COSSA and Organizational Liaison
  • The Exhibits Coordinator
  • A/V Coordinator
  • Committee on Student Receptions